Roles and Permissions

×

Roles are assigned to users. Permissions are rights that are given to a role to determine what that particular role (and by proxy and user with that role) can view, edit, buy, search, or delete within the system. These permissions are applied to items, categories, locations, customers, and commands.

There are 5 default roles used by Ecommerce. These roles are configured with default permissions, which can be changed. They are broken down as follows:

  • Anonymous – This is a user that has come to your website and has not logged in. They are an anonymous browser. Thus, you would want to limit their abilities within the website. Even though Anonymous is given View and Search rights to Customers, their access is limited to Customers that are listed on the Customers tab in User Maintenance.
    • The Anonymous role provides the following default permissions:
       Items/CategoriesCustomersCommandsLocations
      ViewYesYesYesNo
      EditNoNoNoNo
      BuyYesNoNoNo
      SearchYesYesNoNo
      DeleteNoNoNoNo
  • Default – This is a user that has come to your website and gone through the Register New Account process or has returned and logged into your site. Even though Default is given View and Search rights to Customers, their access is limited to Customers that are listed on the Customers tab in User Maintenance. As a rule you want the default permissions to match anonymous permissions since all users created in the system will always get this role. If you want to lock down security then create a new role and assign the permissions to it.
    • The Default role provides the following default permissions:
       Items/CategoriesCustomersCommandsLocations
      ViewYesYesYesNo
      EditNoNoNoNo
      BuyYesNoNoNo
      SearchYesYesYesNo
      DeleteNoNoNoNo
  • Account Admin – This is a role given to a user that has the ability to create users and assign Roles to their Customer account. The system limits users with this Role to only be able to give out Roles that they have and link to Customers that they are linked to. Even though Account Admin is given View and Search rights to Customers, their access is limited to Customers that are listed on the Customers tab in User Maintenance.
    • The Account Admin role provides the following default permissions.
       Items/CategoriesCustomersCommandsLocations
      ViewYesYesYesNo
      EditNoYesNoNo
      BuyYesNoNoNo
      SearchYesYesYesNo
      DeleteNoNoNoNo
  • Employee – This is a role typically given to all employees who also have the User Type of "Employee" on the User tab. This gives them access to the Enterprise menu and basic rights to all of the Enterprise modules (BRAIN, Customer Service, etc.).
  • Admin – This role, combined with the User Type of "Employee", gives the user access to everything.

To maintain roles go to System Management | Roles

Enterprise Roles List Panel

You can click on an existing role or add a new one. Adding a new Role will bring up this dialog box.

Enterprise Add Role Screen

The dialog has the following options:

  • Save - Exactly as stated. Save often.
  • Cancel - Perfect for those times when you realize you've screwed up or changed your mind. Unless, of course, you've already saved.
  • Copy - Used when you are copying an entire role.
  • Delete - For when you're getting rid of a role entirely.
  • Name - Role Name (only editable if User defined...System Roles can't be changed)
  • Description - Short description of what the role is used for (mainly just a reminder)

Enterprise Add Role Screen

Default Permissions - Default permissions for each kind of object in the BirdDog system that supports Permissions. Default Permissions are applied to all objects of this type when you create the Role, you can then go into each individual object (Item and Categories, Customers, Locations) and change them.

Rights are as follows:

  • View - Ability to see (or use, in the case of Commands)
  • Edit - Ability to make changes (this includes the ability to Add new)
  • Buy - Ability to purchase
  • Search - Ability to find in searches
  • Delete - Ability to delete